“Everything’s Coming Up Rose’s”

Standard

        Megan is finally feeling better!  Yea!  It was so indescribably sad to see her sick.  I was sick too, but I forgot all about it watching how bad my little Meg had it.  I used to wonder why parents let their little one’s noses get all snotty and crusty but after this week I understand why!  I still tried to keep her nose as clean as possible, but she sure didn’t enjoy it when I came at her with a tissue.   She spent most her days trotting around in just a diaper (we often put vapor rub on her chest) so daddy bought her a pair of slippers to wear to make her feel more comfortable.  She LOVED the slippers and was heartbroken whenever we took them off of her.  Normally she detests wearing shoes, but my goodness she loves her new slippers.      

      When I was a baby my family called me “Rose” because my diapers smelled so good :).  Lately we have taken to calling Megan “Rose” as well for a totally different reason.  A few weeks ago, after having yogurt for breakfast, Megan’s cheeks turned a bright pink.  It was strawberry yogurt with real strawberries in it, so we thought maybe she was having an allergic reaction to the strawberries.  We tried the next day with blueberry, and the same thing happened, so we surmised it to be the yogurt (which she has been eating for months).  We decided to wait and try a week later, but it is still happening.  We don’t let her eat the yogurt anymore, but we still call her Rose.  Like mother like daughter :).       

     Megan continues to sleep with her limbs hanging out of her crib.  As cute as it is, I don’t like it at all.  I try to put them back in right after she falls asleep at night, and for the most part I don’t think she sticks them out for the rest of the night.  I just don’t like imagining her try to toss over in the night with her legs dangling out of her crib.          

     School is getting gradually more difficult for Adam, but the teaching side is getting easier.  He is feeling more confident and can tell better what the students need.  Everyone told me that I would hate it when Adam was in grad school because I would never see him, but I think I see him more than when he was an undergrad.  It still is a bummer to see him leave each day, but that makes it all the better when he comes home.      

     I’m having a hard time playing the piano in Relief Society.  I don’t know if the songs are getting harder or I am progressively becoming worse.  I REALLY need to practice more; last week I hardly practiced at all because we were sick.  I need to step it up for next week.      

     Our ward is having a camping trip next weekend, so we are looking forward to that.  I don’t know if we will actually campout, but we will go for the night and morning activities.  It is supposed to start getting pretty cold here and I don’t want Megan catching cold again before her immune system has a chance to strengthen.  I don’t want her to have a cold again for a looooooong time. 

     Lastly, Adam and I are having a hard time with how fast our little one is growing up.  We were looking through pictures of her when she was only a few months old and we can’t believe how much she has changed and how fast the time is going.  I guess that’s one of the reasons people have more children!  Our little monster is growing up too fast!  Enjoy a few pictures from memory lane. 

   8 days old:

  peace.jpg

2 months old:

  2-months.jpg

  Almost 5 months old:

   almost-5-months.jpg

 Almost 8 months old:

  amost-8-months.jpg

  11 months old:

  p5250021.jpg

   14 months old: 

   p9060007.jpg       

4 responses »

  1. So these pictures down memory lane made me cry. I don’t know how you can stand having megan grow up. I am already wanting another baby because Stella is what – about three months old, and I can’t take it. The picture of her at 8 days old is absolutely adorable. I love it! Anyway, I feel your pain on the growing up thing, and I’ve only just begun…but then again, so have you really.

  2. Crazy how fast they grow, huh? My niece turns two years next month…she’s my favorite! How is Iowa?

Leave a Reply

