“We’re all sick here, too” – Marshall

Standard

   I wonder if I could hold a Guinness World Record for most number of colds ever had by one person.  Seriously, I think I could stand a chance.  So anyway, we’re all sick here in the Johanson house.  Luckily, Adam and Megan mostly just have runny noses; with a slight cough/sneezing.  I am the lucky one with headaches, uncontrollable coughing, and my throat and chest feel like they are on fire.  I really do consider myself lucky though because I am so glad that Megan and Adam aren’t as miserable as I am.  Adam has too much on his plate to have to fight a bad cold, and I CAN’T STAND to have my little Megan sick.  So obviously, I really am lucky…         

     So this week Megan and I started going on walks with a woman (Traci) in our ward that has 2 little girls.  I am really enjoying it because not only does it get us out and get us exercising, but I also really enjoy the social aspect – especially with Traci.  She seems very down to earth and has a fun personality.  She is actually playing Mary, (Adam is Joseph) in The Savior of the World program.  I haven’t heard her yet, but everyone says she has an amazing voice.         

     Wednesday was Halloween, and I already posted about that, but here in Ames they actually have the kids go trick or treating the night before Halloween.  So apparently they used to have a big issue with older kids causing all sorts of problems on Halloween so they made the day before for young children and actual Halloween for the rascals…the person who told me this said they don’t have the problem anymore – but they just kept it that way.  We think it’s lame…and when we do start taking Megan out – it will be on Halloween.        

      Thursday night Adam had to go out to the observatory.  He didn’t get home until 2:00am and then he stayed up until 5:00am working on a big presentation (not related to his work at the observatory) he had to give on Friday.  I don’t really know how it went; all I have to go by is what Adam said, and he said it went good (I bet it went REALLY good).  He was just glad to have it over with!      

     Friday was also our Relief Society’s “Fantastic Friday” which I guess is like other ward’s “Super Saturday” where we do crafts and dinner and such.  I was actually an instructor for one of the classes and I taught the ladies how to make this: 

001-1.jpg

It turned out REALLY well and I had a couple ladies tell me after that they wanted to make one even though they didn’t sign up so I have a few to get out this week.  It was quite stressful because I didn’t know what I was doing and I had to go out and buy all the supplies and order the lettering, but it was a hit in the end.

      I also made this:      

028a.jpg   029a.jpg

       It’s a bulletin board with a metal sheet on top so you can use magnets on it.                    

     Saturday we were all sick so we had kind of a lazy day.  Adam listened to the football game (another Cougar victory!!!) and Megan and I took nice looong naps.  I had actually neglected clean-up because I wasn’t feeling well and I woke up to find the house spotless: the dishwasher was running, the laundry was folded and all the trashes were taken out.  I still don’t think I have shown Adam the appreciation he deserves!!!                     

      Saturday night we tended a little girl in the ward while her parents went out for their “date night”.  I was thrilled at how well she and Megan played together, especially because lately Megan has been so independent.  They were so cute – I posted a few pictures and put them on Picasa.  Her name is Annelisa and she is exactly two months younger than Megan.

 005a.jpg  

     We also got a visit from a member of the Stake Presidency last night who asked Adam to serve in the Elder’s Quorum presidency.  He and the Stake President are actually in our ward and they both had some very kind things to say about Adam.  We imagine this will be a big time commitment, but Adam is really looking forward to the chance to serve.        

    Well, I guess that’s all for now.  Sorry this was kind of long.  We are counting down the days now until Thanksgiving which will be here before we know it!  Arkansas: here we come!

2 responses »

  1. I love to read your updates and see how well you guys are doing! It sounds like you guys are liking Iowa and are settling into life there quite nicely.

  2. So, can you show me how to make those things? – They were so cool!

    I am so excited for Thanksgiving! I hope you will all feel 100% better!

Leave a Reply

