Another Anniversary

Standard

I have now been blogging it up for a whole year. What started as a way to keep those who are interested updated on our life, has become so much more as I love looking back and seeing what we were up to: “back when”.

I really can’t believe that I kept this up for a year. There have been A LOT of times when I have considered giving it up – for a couple of reasons. One, it is awfully presumptuous of me to assume that people are ACTUALLY interested in what I have to go on and on about. Two, it is really easy to misinterpret what one reads on a blog, or what the writers mean to say, so I have often worried that I come off the wrong way to family or friends reading this. The truth is, we are happy and having fun at this point in our lives. I LOVE sharing what is new with Megan and posting pictures of the most beautiful girl in the world!!

Another surprising reason that I have kept this up, is that I am actually a really private person. I remember getting hassled by some family members when they found out I was engaged because they didn’t even know I had a boyfriend. That’s kind of just the way I am. I guess I just kind of thought of blogging as an insight to what was going on with me. Only, I don’t have to do any personal one on one, and that’s just more comfortable for me. Only, now I share almost everything with the entire world. Again, awfully presumptuous!

I want to set a new goal for my next year of blogging, (if I can hang on that long). In a talk given to the graduating students at BYU Hawaii, Elder Ballard discusses the usage of the great “New Media to Support the Work of the Church”. He talks about how blogs can be wonderful tools in sharing what we know to be true. That should be relatively easy for me since I have a rock solid testimony of the truthfulness of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

I love what Elder Uchtdorf said when he gave a talk about testimony in 2006:

“Satan wouldn’t mind if we declared the message of our faith and gospel doctrine as negotiable according to circumstances. Our firm conviction of gospel truth is an anchor in our lives; it is steady and reliable as the North Star. A testimony is very personal and may be a little different for each of us, because everyone is a unique person. However, a testimony of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ will always include these clear and simple truths:

• God lives. He is our loving Father in Heaven, and we are His children.
• Jesus Christ is the Son of the living God and the Savior of the world.
• Joseph Smith is the prophet of God through whom the gospel of Jesus Christ was restored in the latter days.
• The Book of Mormon is the word of God.
• [The president of the church], his counselors, and the members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles are the prophets, seers, and revelators in our day.”

If you read this blog, and take nothing away from it, other than the fact that I do indeed have a testimony of the clear and simple truths of which Elder Uchtdorf spoke, then I will consider this a blog well worth while.

Learn more about WHAT I BELIEVE visit:

http://www.mormon.org/

or

http://www.jesuschrist.lds.org/

Leave a Reply

