I won! I won! I won!

Standard

Megan and I both participated in the Summer reading program at our local library. For Megan, basically she just got a prize each time she read for a certain amount of time. She won little prizes along the way, like a cookie from Subway, or a free swim pass.

For the adult program, I just filled out a slip for each book I read to be entered into a drawing at the end of the Summer. By the end of the “contest” period, I had 13 slips ready to turn in. I didn’t include books that weren’t novels (like books I read about potty training or discipline).

I took Megan to the library yesterday, and I overheard a woman tell a library patron that they received a phone call saying her little girl had won something. I thought that meant that they had done the drawings, and I didn’t win. I was a little disappointed, just because I had never won anything before and I thought this was probably my best chance. I got over it although I held on to hope a little by thinking that maybe they had just done the children’s drawings, but I didn’t hold my breath.

Then today I got a phone call saying that I had won! And not only did I win, but I won two prizes! While running some errands, we stopped by the library to see what I won. I got a gift card for Applebee’s, and a free night of bowling. I called to tell my sister about the prizes, and she said in Vegas the kid who wins gets a trip to Disneyland. Well, let me tell you: free dinner and bowling are the closest things to Disneyland for us Iowans. ๐Ÿ™‚

Looks like we’ll be enjoying a yummy dinner at Applebee’s sometime soon. And I’ll probably just sit back and watch Adam and Megan enjoy a game of bowling, which is fine by me.

Oh, and I added up all the pages in the books that I counted for the contest, and it added up to 5,618 pages. That might explain some of this unwanted pregnancy weight gain…

Dinner at Applebee’s probably won’t help much either…especially since I won’t be working it off afterwards with a game of bowling. Ah well, I still won.

6 responses »

  1. You’re the weaner! That is how we say it in our family so that the loser doesn’t feel as bad … ๐Ÿ™‚

    BTW – What extra pregnancy weight are you even talking about? You look like you are growing a baby in the middle and skinny skinny every where else! THAT IS HOW YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO LOOK – YOU’RE PREGNANT!!!!! (I thought I would tell you that last part in case you didn’t know.)

  2. woo-hooo!! so fun to win! you deserve it after all your couch reading this summer too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. yay for winning! it is always so fun and surprising! you are looking very cute! good job with all that reading for both of you! i agree that you are looking plenty skinny besides the little boy growing inside you.

  4. I did read any of that Vampire book. I think that makes me the winner! and Adam is looking pretty skinny still.

Leave a Reply

