The Name Game

Standard

When we were expecting our first baby, we had a list of about 5 possible girl names and only 1 possible boy name. When we found out we were having a girl, we changed our minds often as to what would be the name of our little one. We finally settled on a name, and the name stuck until right about the 8th month or so. Then we changed our minds again. As the weeks passed, we were pretty sure that her name would be Megan, but we didn’t make any definite decisions. Moments after Megan was born, a nurse asked “what’s her name?” Adam and I just looked at each other, and the nurses just laughed (along with the other 15 people who were in the room for my first birthing experience). For about 15 minutes after she was born, she was just “Baby Girl Johanson”.

When we found out we were expecting baby number two, again we had a list of several girl names (the same names as before) and only one boy name. When we found out we were having a little boy, there was no doubt in our minds what we would name him:

Jack: Adam and I both liked this name independent of each other. Jack was one of the baby names that I had written in my journal since I was like 13 years old. And Adam can remember liking the name Jack as the name for a future child as early as his freshmen year in high school. We have never really had a “baby boy name discussion”. We both just wanted Jack.

Alexander: When I was 10 years old, I started babysitting a 10 day old named Blake. It began as a weekend job, but quickly became much more frequent. Blake was at our house all the time: he spent the night, he went to church with us, he even went on family trips with us (he is in the wedding pictures for one of my cousins). I became very attached to Blake, and it is because of him that I have a special place in my heart for little boys. Blake is now 14 years old, and he and his little brother and sister spend a lot of time with my sister Sarah. Blake’s middle name is Alexander, and I find it a fitting middle name for my own baby boy.

So there you have it. Our little guy will be Jack Alexander Johanson. We can’t wait for him to get here…although we have to. Only 72 days left!

6 responses »

  1. I love the name Jack! It’s one I have wanted to use before. It’s just the perfect name for a little boy, and big. 🙂

  2. How has your pregnancy been? Are you feeling good? Baby boys are sooooo fun! I’m just lovin’ Canyon’s smiles.
    Can your Jack be like Jack Ryan? You know, the character in Clear and Present Danger, Hunt for Red October and those other books/movies. I’m sure he’ll be another Johanson genius.

  3. Cute name. Cute family. Just do me a favor and kiss that cute Megan for Auntie Annie, and Adam too….a long smooch will do!! He hE!!

  4. I love Blake! I think about him a lot, actually, because there’s a kid in my primary class who looks just like him and reminds me of him. Remember he used to call me Slurpee Head? 🙂 And I LOVE the name Jack. If our last name weren’t Johnson, I’d want to use it.

Leave a Reply

