Today

Standard

Today was much the same as yesterday. I can’t really say that Jack is doing “good” or “bad”, it’s safer to say that he is “stable”. The nurse describes him as if he is sitting on a fence and hasn’t yet decided whether he wants to fall off the fence or climb over it. We want him to climb. Jack will let us know when he makes up his mind. For now it’s nice to have a break from the ups and downs of the rollercoaster and just ride along. Well, actually, it would be nice to not be on this ride at all. But riding it means that we get to be Jack’s parents, so we’re buckled in for the long haul.

Adam had kind of rough day today. He’s been trying so hard to stay positive for me that he was just beyond exhaustion (emotionally) today. I had a little bit better day today, which probably made it easier for him to not have to pretend to be doing okay for me. He has such a tender heart – and I am glad. I just love my husband. Several people (social workers, nurses, doctors…etc.) have warned us of the stress this can put on our marriage and that a lot of couples can really get at each other at times like these. I know that Jack was born 5 days ago and Adam and I have not once gotten on each others nerves or had to be short with each other. In fact, we can’t stand to be apart. Even if the other one is just napping or going to the restroom, we miss those moments together. In fact, right now I am down with Jack and he is upstairs with Megan and I actually miss him.

It’s nice that this NICU has laptops for rent for use in our room. We have been doing a lot of research. I can’t believe how much my knowlegde base has grown the last few days. And yet there is still so much that I don’t understand.

We are staying at the Ronald McDonald House and I am excited because Megan gets to stay the night with us tonight. I sure have missed her. The other NICU did not allow children under 5 to see the babies, so it was nice that they allow that here. We can all spend time together. I hate being away from Jack though. It’s hard to leave at night. They say they will call immediately if they ever think we need to be here, but I still set my alarm for the middle of the night to call and check on him.

I guess that’s all for now. We’re hanging in there. Just barely, but we’ve pretty much tied a knot in the end of our rope and we are holding on.

12 responses »

  1. “I am testifying that God never leaves us alone, never leaves us unaided in the challenges that we face. “[N]or will he, so long as time shall last, or the earth shall stand, or there shall be one man [or woman or child] upon the face thereof to be saved.” On occasions, global or personal, we may feel we are distanced from God, shut out from heaven, lost, alone in dark and dreary places… the Father of us all is watching and assisting. And always there are those angels who come and go all around us, seen and unseen, known and unknown, mortal and immortal…’I will go before your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left, . . . my Spirit shall be in your [heart], and mine angels round about you, to bear you up.'”

    Adam, Elizabeth, I will continue to pray that angels will be assisting you during this seemingly impossible time. I cannot imagine how hard it is. I am sorry that you have to go through this. It hurts to think of the pain that you are experiencing at this time. Sonya and I will continue to pray for your little family. We love you all.

  2. We love you and wait anxiously on new updates for our little guy. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the photo, we know that isn’t the way you wanted us all to see him, but we love him so much its nice to be able to put the cute little face in our minds! We hope and pray that you and Adam continue to get the strength that you need to press on! Thanks again for the photo, he is adorable. We love you guys and you are in our prayers, we call the temple daily for you guys, I wish we could do more.

  3. Thanks for the update. We also want Jack to climb over the fence. He’s a sweet little boy. We can tell already from his precious pictures. His little lips and chin are so adorable. We’re glad you’ve been able to be with Megan a little more. Hang in there and let us know what you need if anything at all.

  4. We love you and are sitting here looking at the photos, the girls want to write to you guys,

    Torie: I hope he climbs over the fence i`m happy that you get to spend the night with Megan. Jack is a cutie. I love you hope you are doing good.See you at Christmas. Bye.

    Tara: I hope he climbs over the fence, too. I love you guys. I hope Jack gets better. I want Jack to stay here with us. I can’t wait to see you at Christmas. love, Tara

    I’d let tanner write but, we’d need some help decoding the message, but his response to the photos was, Baby has an owie, mom kiss it, and make it better.

    Don’t we wish that life was that simple, out of the mouths of babes….We love you and are praying for Jacks turn around. please let us know if we can do anything. love, the five T’s

  5. Thanks for the update. We are all trying to climb with him. You are both so strong for him and each other but it is good to breakdown and let the other build you back up. We are all here for you too!

  6. You are all in our prayers. Wish I could be there with you too. We are proud of all of you and will be very proud of Jack for climbing the fence and being another pride and joy of yours.

  7. Liz & Adam,

    Thanks for the update!!! You are all in our prayers. The little guy sounds like a fighter, He’s so cute 🙂 Both of you are so strong!!! Such great examples to all of us. I’m also glad Megan gets to be there with you. I’m praying for Baby Jack and you guys too.

    Love ya!

  8. He is so beautiful!!! You guys are amazing. Thank you for taking the time to update us so often. We are praying for you and wish we could do more. We are so sorry that you are having to go through this and our heart aches every time we think about what you must be feeling. Jack is so blessed to have come into such an amazing family with such incredible parents. We love you guys and pray that the answers will come shortly for you.

  9. Thanks so much for the updates. We are really praying and feeling for you right now. He looks absolutely beautiful and the picture you posted of him took our breath away! We’ll all keep praying for your family. Adam, please feel free to drop out of the musical number this week. Brock can fill in for you, so just let me know what YOU want to do!

  10. Adam and Elizabeth, you two are doing an incredible job. We can’t pretend to understand your emotional/physical stress, but just know that we’re in awe of how well you’re doing. Everyone is so proud of Jack for fighting so hard. He’s a beautiful baby and he’s so, so lucky to have you as his parents. The Lord is mindful of you and your complex emotions at this time, and your ward family is behind you 1000%. Trust that God will hold you up when you feel that you can no longer stand, and that he will give you mental strength when you feel you are running out. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post updates. We love you all and we never stop praying for you! He’s just gorgeous. Hang in there, all of you.

Leave a Reply

