THANK. YOU.

Standard

Last night I got a phone call from a sister in our ward telling me she would like to come up today and bring me a “small” care package from the Relief Society sisters in our ward. When she arrived, I could see that she had very much underestimated the size of the package! She brought us a huge basket, overflowing with goodies and notes and gifts.

Adam and I were so grateful for the basket, and Miss Megan loved all the little surprises for her. Adam and I were humbled by the generosity of the members of our ward. We weren’t surprised by it, as we know that our ward family is incredibly kind and thoughtful, but we were awed and inspired. We feel so undeserving and are motivated to serve others in whatever capacity we can.

dscn1190c

Our little family had big plans for “skipping Christmas” this year. But too many people have made that impossible. Such acts of kindness and giving have motivated us to more deeply reflect on the birth of our Savior as the greatest gift of all. This may be a very sad Christmas season for us, but at the same time, it will probably also be the most sincere Christmas that we have ever had.

So, thank you.

3 responses »

  1. I think you guys are an inspiration to others right now to remember and be grateful for the true meaning of Christmas, not a task you signed up for, but one that you have been preparing for and didn’t even know it. Jack has come to you for a very real reason and you guys could not be doing a better job for the little cutie. We love you.

  2. I got a package in the mail today from Amazon. I was confused, thinking “I don’t remember ordering a DVD” (it was a movie sized box), “but maybe I pre-orderd something a long time ago …”

    So, I opened one of my Christmas gifts early … but that just means I get to start using it right away!!!! I am so humbled that you were so thoughtful of Matt and I during this particular rough patch you are in.

    You guys are the best. We miss you. Thanks so much for the gift, we are so excited to play with it.

    Love, Mary (and Matt)

  3. I just wanted to let you guys know that we read your blog daily to check for updates. We pray for Jack and your family all the time and have added your names to the Lubbock Temple prayer roll.

    We love you and wish you a Merry Christmas – we will keep praying for all of you.

Leave a Reply

