We Were Gonna Have a Baby

Standard

Throughout this past week, Jack helped us to see that he had completed his mission here on Earth. He accomplished all that he needed to do, and was called home to his Heavenly Father. We are heartbroken, but have the peace and understanding that the Gospel brings.

The impact that little Jack had while on this Earth for a mere matter of weeks was great. He brought countless people to their knees and invoked a spirit of change in so many hearts. He has touched so many lives, and has changed ours for the better.

We will miss and long for our little Jack more than words could possibly describe. We have never had a greater understanding nor appreciation for the plan of salvation. For the Atonement. For the love of our Father for His children. For his willingness to sacrifice His most beloved Son so that we might one day be with Jack: our beloved son.

So…we were gonna have a baby, but we had an angel instead.

64 responses »

  1. Elizabeth & Adam…I have been keeping up on Jack via your blog and want you to know how very sorry I am for your loss. There is great comfort in the Gospel of Christ, as I’m sure you know. I will be praying for you and your entire family.

  2. I send my love and prayers for peace

    I know not much will fill those empty arms
    but I will try to help you through those days
    ahead. susan

  3. I left you a phone message about a 1/2 hour ago (and bawled, as I’m sure you could hear). We love you more than describable. Thank you for sharing Jack’s life with us so that we could all be strengthened. We’re here for you, and haven’t stopped praying for you to receive whatever you need

  4. I am so sorry to hear that your little Jack didn’t make it here on earth, but I’m sure that he is busy doing the Lord’s work. (Not that it helps with the pain right now). I will continue to pray for your family and the peace that you need during this time.

  5. Oh, dear Johanson family! I was so sorry to hear about Jack’s passing tonight. I have been thinking of your little family all afternoon and want you to know how much you and your little Jack have taught me. Thank you for sharing this time in your lives with so many. I hope and wish all the love and peace upon all of your family for as long as you all need it. {hugs}

  6. I am so sorry to hear about little Jack. You have showed amazing faith and strength throughout this trial and have taught me a lot. Our prayers will be with you.

  7. I can’t wait to meet little jack one day in a much better place. I don’t know what to say, but I love you and your little family, and I am so gratefull that you had the strength to share Jacks story with us all. He made such a difference in so many lives in the short time he was here, I wish there was more we could do to help you feel comforted during this time. Just know that we love you and will continue to pray for you.

  8. Dear Elizabeth and Adam,

    Thank you for sharing Jack’s life with us and allowing us to read about the ups and downs.

    My heart reaches out to you and your family and I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

    You’re strength is amazing, though I’m sure you feel so weak at the same time, I know those around you and far from you love you dearly.

    I ache for your loss and send my love.

    Lacey

  9. I am so sorry for your loss. Words can not express how much my heart goes out to your family. I have been in awe at the amazing faith and strength both you and Adam have shown. Adam, you, and Jack will all be greatly rewarded for all that you were and will be asked to endure through this time. I am so glad that you were able to get to know him for even just a short time. We are always thinking of you and praying for you.

  10. Elizabeth and Adam. I hope you don’t mind telling you that
    we lost our first born, and it gave us something to strive for. We want to be able to be with her forever, so will try
    our best to live accordingly. Also, you will get the chance
    during the millenium to raise Jack. I know that was a comfort to me. I’m sorry for the piece of your heart you
    will feel like you are missing. But I also want to thank you for keeping us informed of Jacks short life.

  11. You and your family have continued to inspire me with your faith. I will forever be grateful for your examples and Jack’s spirit that I felt from thousands of miles away. You will continue to be in our prayers.

  12. I don’t know how to express what your family has given to the world through this story but I tried to express my gratitude towards you on our blog if you ever have a chance to look at it. We love you.

  13. Thank you for sharing Jack with us. I cannot begin to tell you both how amazing you are!!! I can’t believe that through all of this, you found time to keep us all updated on Baby Jack….Thank You! Your strength and faith amazes me. You both are such an amazing example to all of us. I know you will miss Jack, but you will be reunited with him someday! He is such a sweet little angel 🙂 Love you!

  14. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now- you are a wonderful example of what a good, loving family should be and I’ve gotten so much inspiration (and hope) for my own future just by reading what you write about your life, parenting, marriage, and love. I want to tell you how very sorry I am to hear about Jack’s passing. It’s all been so heart-wrenching to read about for all of these weeks, and I can’t begin to imagine how hard it was for you to experience. I’m humbled by your strength and wish you and your family peace in this incredibly difficult time.

  15. What power in your words! Jack has got to be the proudest angel in heaven right now knowing who his parents are and what kind of family he is blessed to be sealed to for all eternity. I bet the spirit in his room was so strong tonight as heaven and earth became one for you. What a perfect name for your perfect baby–Jack. It means God is gracious. And Jack has definitely reminded us all of God’s graciousness, His mercy and compassion and how wonderful His Plan of Salvation is. What a valiant little missionary Jack has been already!

  16. Elizabeth, Adam, & Megan

    I’m so sorry that Jack has passed on. I just wanted to thank you for letting us get to know Jack, through your blogs. What a sweet spirit. It is truly our loss to not get to know him in this life, but that we know we will get to know him in the next one.

    Hugs & Prayers for your family

    Donna Sanchez

  17. Adam, Elizabeth, and Megan,
    We are so sorry to hear that Jack was called home so soon. He touched thousands of lives without even trying…what a beautiful and special little spirit. We love your family, we pray for your family, and we believe that Jack was too perfect to live in this imperfect world. God bless all of you at this time. All our love.

  18. I am so sorry to hear about little Jack. I bet you must be the proudest parents of your little angel. He was a fighter and touched so much of us. He taught us all about love and sacrifice. We love you and pray for you and your little family. We pray for peace and comfort for you. Please know that we love you and love Jack. Forever families are an amazing blessing and I am sure you feel this more than ever. Thanks for sharing Jack with us.

    Mark and Adrian

  19. Oh Liz, I wish that the Lord had a different plan in mind for Baby Jack. I am SO sorry. I really admire your positive outlook on life. Jack was a very special spirit and someday you will be able to raise him. We will keep your family in our prayers.

  20. Words can’t express how much I feel for you right now. I’m am so sorry for your loss of your precious baby. He has the best parents and is so lucky for that! We are thinking of you and praying for you!

  21. I am so sorry! You were chosen to be Jacks parents because Heavenly Father knew the love you would have for him and that you would understand and accept his will. You are right, little Jack was so perfect that he only needed to be on this earth to gain a body and now he is back home with our Heavenly Father. You will be reunited with him again. Thank you for your strength and amazing faith. You truly are an example to us all. Our prayers are with you, always. We love you guys!
    ~Mandy & Lucas

  22. I think about your sweet family everyday. You give me strength. Little Jack completed his mission here on earth and now he must have great things to acomplish on the other side. Thank you Elizabeth and Adam for your gracious words in this blog. Little Megan and Jack are so blessed to have come to your family.

  23. I am so sorry to hear of the passing of your Jack. You truly have a perspective that touches my heart. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

  24. Adam and Elizabeth,
    We (and our extended family) have been loving Baby Jack from a distance and have shed many tears this morning as we heard of his passing. You both are amazing people with amazing faith. Thank you for sharing your testimonies and understanding of the Plan of Salvation with so many people. As has been mentioned before, Baby Jack has touched more lives than anyone will ever know. Thanks to you for sharing a part of your family with all of us.

  25. Adam & Elizabeth,
    Our hearts are heavy and we are so sad for your great loss. Thank you for sharing your strength and testimonies through this very hard time. You have demonstrated great courage and been an example to us all. We hope that you will be able to lean on the Lord and that he will comfort you at this difficult time. Our prayers will continue to be poured out in your behalf. We love you.

  26. Thank you for sharing this beautiful story with us. as always, your family is still in our prayers. Thank you so much for being so worthy and willing to share this experience. It reminds me how precious life is and how thankful I am for the gospel in my life and the knowledge of the atonement.

  27. Thank you for keeping us all updated about Baby Jack and sharing your story with us. We have all been touched and we will continue to pray for you family. Know we love you all!

  28. So sorry for your loss. Our family is forever. So sorry. We love little Jack and his sweet little family. Our strong little man.

  29. I have been hesitant to post anything for the last few weeks because I didn’t have the right words. I still don’t have the right words, but your family has not left our thoughts and prayers since we learned of the arrival of little Jack. We will continue to keep you in our prayers. We are so sorry for your loss.

  30. We are so sorry for the loss. We have all been loving Baby Jack since we knew he would be coming and will continue to love your sweet angel. We love you all and will keep you in our thoughts, hearts and prayers.

  31. I have been reading your blog since Annie shared it with me after Thanksgiving. I fell in love with little Jack and feel so sorry for your loss. I can’t help but think that Jack is having a great time with his Grandpa right now! You are in our prayers!

  32. Johansons,
    I can’t hold back the tears. Our prayers are with you. We love you!

  33. Oh Elizabeth, this was so incredibly beautifully written, from the purest places of a faithful mother’s heart. I am heartbroken too for your loss. Jack was an amazing little spirit and your perspective and faith has given so much meaning through this most incredibly difficult time. I hope and pray you will all continue to get through this and be carried by the Lord’s love. Thank you for sharing Jack with us.

  34. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your sweet Jack. I really wanted to meet him. But, I’m grateful to have witnessed his life through your blog. He is a true little angel and a missionary at the same time. His life has touched countless people and I think his life will continue to touch many more people. I am truly grateful for the gospel and eternal families. I know you and Adam received a choice spirit that is sweet Jack Alexander to be your son. Please know that we have your family in our prayers. A big hug from us!

    Elisa and Rodrigo Jofré

  35. Dear Liz,

    I have been so out of touch lately, that I had no idea about all of this until my mom and sister told me to check your blog. I am so sorry for your loss! I can’t even imagine the pain that you are going through. I’m so grateful for the gospel and the peace it offers us to know that we will see our loved ones again. Even so, I’m so sorry! I love you and your family, and my prayers are with you.

    Love,
    Molly

  36. While I never was able to get to know you well I considered Loren and Sarah to be long time friends and I had been following Sarah’s blog for updates on little Jack so last night when I read on hers that he had passed the tears filled my eyes and as a Mom I just ache for you. I am soo sorry for your loss. I think I felt a bit connected to little Jack because two of my favorite people carry that name as well (my Dad & brother) it is a great name for a great little boy! May the Lord lift you up and may you feel the prayers on your behalf as well as your husband and daughter! All my love
    Marylin

  37. OUR SINCERE CONDOLENCES.
    KNOW THAT LITTLE JACK IS IN GOD’S HANDS. HE MUST HAVE BEEN VERY SPECIAL.
    OUR PRAYERS TO YOU, ADAM

  38. I’m really sorry to hear about Jack, and hope that things will get better for your family as soon as possible.

  39. Dear Johansons,
    So sorry to hear of your recent loss. But the gains abound much more as little Jack blessed your lives, and ours, greatly! Many warm wishes and sympathy for your whole family during this time, and may his short time here bless your family throughout all time.
    Peace be with you.

  40. We are so so heart broken here also, in Huntington Beach, so Many prayers were offered. The plan of Salvation is true. We know we will all be with little Jack again someday, we love you and send our deepest sympathy at this most difficult time.
    Uncle Kenny and Aunt Val

  41. Adam, Elizabeth, and Megan,
    We are so sorry to hear this news, but are so uplifted by your amazing testimonies and knowledge of the gospel. It’s true–your family is forever. Thank you so much for letting us into this time in your life through your blog. Our hearts are forever changed as well by little Jack. You are all in our most heartfelt prayers.
    Love,
    Wes, Holly and Liam Stephenson

  42. I am so very sorry to hear of your loss. I have been following your story from Matt and Mary’s blog and am deeply saddened. I have loved all of your sweet testimonies about eternal families and know that you will all be reunited one day. My prayers are with your family.

  43. Jack will forever hold a tender place in my heart. Thanks for keeping us all updated and for your strong testimony and spirit.

  44. “Among all the glorious gospel verities given of God to his people there is scarcely a doctrine so sweet, so soul satisfying, and so soul sanctifying, as the one which proclaims, ‘Little children shall be saved. They are alive in Christ and shall have eternal life. For them the family unit will continue, and the fulness of exaltation is theirs. No blessing shall be withheld. They shall rise in immortal glory, grow to full maturity, and live forever in the highest heaven of the celestial kingdom,’ all through the merits and mercy and grace of the Holy Messiah, all because of the atoning sacrifice of Him who died that we might live.” Elder Bruce R McConkie
    We are sorry and hurt because of the passing of Jack. We will always remember him and the impact this has had on us.

  45. Our hearts go out to you and your wonderfully strong family. You have touched each of our hearts and we will never forget little Jack and his valiant life.

  46. Elizabeth, Adam and Megan, I have been reading your blog ever since sweet Jack was born. I am a friend of Ann’s from Utah, and I just wanted to tell you how touched I am that you would share this experience. Your faith is amazing. I feel honored to have known of Jack. I pray that the Lords peace will be with you.

  47. Dear sweet Adam and Elizabeth,
    Our hearts go out to you at this difficult time. We have never stopped praying for both of you and Jack and we will continue now that the Lord will comfort you and sustain you.
    Thank you for sharing with us this experience. It has strengthened our faith as you shared your faith with us.
    What a blessing to know that your sweet little baby Jack is back in the loving arms of the Lord…
    Even though we would rather he could be here in yours.

  48. Dear Adam, Elizabeth and Megan,
    We are sorry about the passing of your precious baby Jack. Our thoughts and prayers are with you. We are so grateful that you understand God’s eternal plan. May you feel the loving arms of the Lord around you.
    Our love to you.
    Uncle Mike and Aunt Debbie

  49. Dear Adam, Elizabeth and Megan,

    We were so sad to hear that baby Jack passed away. He has touched all of our lives so much. We love you and will keep you in our prayers.

    Ryan Law

  50. I know we don’t even comprehend the loss that a mother and father must feel to lose such a special spirit at such a young age. Thank you for all you do to share with us. We grieve with you at this special time in your lives.

  51. We love you guys. Thank you for sharing your angel with us. What a beautiful son to have waiting for you!

  52. i am a friend of annie’s she said i should look at the way you were teaching you daughter colors. so i can teach my son. i finally got around to it and i just had to pay my respects. i too have lost a baby. not in this way. but she passed from sids. i have to say that i admire your stregnth. even with the gospel in my life now. if i were to go through it again i would still not handle it this well. i am so sorry for your loss. you are in my prayers. we will be with our babies again. hey maybe they will be each others playdate. i am so sorry again.

  53. Oh dear. I’m so sorry that you guys will have to be separated from baby Jack for so long. What a hard trial to endure. We sent a letter on Monday–hopefully you’ll get it soon. We love you.

  54. I so so glad that I was able to share your son’s life through your blog. My heart is breaking, but you are much stronger that I could ever be. Your family has truly been blessed, as well as the rest of the world, because of your son. I know that heavenly father has a plan and I am so glad that you two got to be a part of it. My prayers and thought are as always with you.

    Jen

  55. I’m sorry for how late this note is, we have been out of town since before Christmas and didn’t hear about Jack’s passing until just recently. I just wanted to offer my hearfelt sympathy. I’m so very sorry. Thank you for sharing Jack’s story with so many – Your faith and insight have truly inspired and taught me and I know many more. May you continue to be surrounded with comfort and carried at this time.

Leave a Reply

