Matters of Business. Matters of the Heart.

Standard

A memorial service will be held for Baby Jack Alexander on Thursday, January 1st, 2009 in Ames, Iowa. The service will begin at 6:00pm at the meetinghouse of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints located at 2524 Hoover Ave., 50010.

Little Jack’s funeral will be held in Las Vegas, Nevada on Saturday, January 3rd. The service will begin at 1:00pm at the meetinghouse of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints located at 7670 S. Bruce, 89123.

Many people have asked for our home address. For this information, please email me at: elizabethmjohanson@hotmail.com

Thank you all for your continued prayers and outpouring of love. I feel like I should be in an absolute tailspin right now – awaiting a crash.

Instead, angels are attending to us at this time. While I certainly believe we are receiving help from Heavenly angels, I am also constantly reminded of Elder Jeffrey R. Holland’s talk from General Conference October 2008:

“When we speak of those who are instruments in the hand of God, we are reminded that not all angels are from the other side of the veil. Some of them we walk with and talk with—here, now, every day. Some of them reside in our own neighborhoods. Some of them gave birth to us, and in my case, one of them consented to marry me. Indeed heaven never seems closer than when we see the love of God manifested in the kindness and devotion of people so good and so pure that angelic is the only word that comes to mind.”

Thank you for being our angels.

6 responses »

  1. Thanks for the details on the services. I would love to be there if I can. Funerals can be such a stressful time for a lot of people for a lot of reasons, but I do find it so helpful to have a time to mourn together. I have been very surprised at my emotions and frustrations this week. Thanks for your patience and understanding in letting us mourn with you the best way we know how, particularly when it may not come across as us being angels. 🙂

  2. I wish I could attend the service in Vegas. My nephew is being baptized at the same time. Otherwise, I would be there. I know that there is little to be said or done to ease your pain but it doesn’t keep me from wanting to. I’ve learned that in these situations it is usually the one that should be receiving the most support that is “giving” the most support. You are amazing. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth,
    I’ve been thinking of your family every day I’ve been gone. I called the unit Monday night to see how he was doing and was informed that Jack had grown his wings and gone to heaven. I truly wish I could be there in person for the memorial service, but know that I’ll be thinking of your family. God is taking care of Jack now, so please be sure that you and Adam take care of yourselves. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.
    Kate Pollpeter

  4. I am so sad to hear of the loss of your sweet baby boy. We are praying for you all.

  5. Dear Adam, Elizabeth and Megan,

    I am so sad to hear that sweet baby Jack has passed away. His story and the faith you have all shown have touched my heart and you all have inspired me to strive to be a better mother and appreciate every moment I have with my children.

    I love you all.
    Traci

Leave a Reply

