Dear Sweet Nicholas

Standard

Jack’s friend Nicholas Keith James joined Jack this morning at 2:30am. Our hearts go out to our dear friends, Cynthia and James.

dscn1297

Without a doubt, our two families were brought together to lift and support each other during the trial of losing our sons. James and Cynthia were a breath of fresh air for us at the Ronald McDonald House. We stayed up late together, talking, laughing, crying, eating, or even just watching mindless television. Megan wouldn’t have been able to endure the chaos as well as she did without little Rachel by her side.

I was able to step into their hospital room a few times to say hello to Nicholas. I could feel his sweet spirit. He was so peaceful. He and Jack are like two peas in a pod.

“Brothers in life, brothers in death.”

We love you James and Cynthia. We are here if you need us.

And we will need you.

11 responses »

  1. Oh no! If your Nicholas’ family reads this, please know that we ache for you as well. What a terribly difficult time.

  2. Liz and Adam- I just heard about the death of your son, and wanted to send you my sympathies. I know I haven’t seen either of you in forever, but I am praying for you both every night. I cannot even imagine the pain of losing a child. I hope you will find peace and comfort and will feel that you have an angel on the other side always near you, protecting you and loving you.

  3. What a heartbreak! To Nicholas’s family, thank you for being there for the Johanson’s and I know Heavenly father will bless your family.

    Thanks Adam and Liz for letting us know. we are continuing to pray for your family

  4. To the family of Nicholas: (Elizabeth can you forward please)
    I am sorry for your loss. I am grateful to God that He allowed you to meet the Johansons and they you.. May your little sons
    lives be remembered in the new friendships that you have
    been forged —
    Again, I am so sorry for your loss. May you feel peace that
    comes only from God.
    Love, Susan Hallam

  5. Elizabeth I am so sorry to hear your baby Jack is no longer with you. Because we believe and have faith though we know that he is with our heavenly Father and that you, Adam and Megan will one day see him again. Until that time comes though I pray the Lord will help your heart, mind, body and soul to heal and be restored. My thoughts and prayers are with you my friend. I hope to see you again soon so I can give you hug. Blessings always Elizabeth!

  6. Oh, I am so sorry for both of your families. I know they don’t know me but I pray for them also. I am so glad you have both had each other to lean on.

  7. All,

    My wife Cynthia and I just wanted to take a little time to thank each and every one of you for your letters and words of encouragement during our time of need. I do feel blessed to know Adam and Elizabeth’s family during our stay in Iowa City, knowing full well that there is too much in common for this to be coincidential.

    Adam and Elizabeth have been our breath of fresh air, and as of late our companions on this road of grief.

    Many things will never be known as to why things happened to our sons, but one thing we both know is that they are now in perfect condition in the eyes and arms of God in heaven. Cynthia and I know that Jack and Nicholas are running and playing with our Grandfathers and getting spoiled each and every day.

    Thank you once again!!

    James, Cynthia, Rachel & Nicholas McLaughlin

  8. Liz~
    Please let Nicholas’s family know that I am thinking of them and praying for their peace and comfort. I am so glad that you have someone to lean on and them you! Send them my deepest symathys!!!

  9. James and Cynthia,
    I had a taken a little break from crying the past day or so… then I read your message. Bless you all!

  10. Elisabeth,
    Your family and Nicholas’ family remain in our prayers. Your un-waivering faith and testimony have been a blessing for me and all those who read your blog during this difficult time for your family.
    My heartfelt sympathy,
    Meikel

Leave a Reply

