Happy Birthday, Adam!

Standard

Today Adam turned 26 big ones. For weeks I have been looking forward to his birthday. I don’t know if it’s because the last few holidays have been marked by sadness and have gone mostly uncelebrated, (sadly, I fear that Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years will have forever lost the magic they once possessed) or if it’s because I love any excuse to shower my wonderful husband with attention, food, and gifts. Whatever the reason, it was nice to have something fun to look forward to.

I put SO much thought into Adam’s birthday presents this year. Two of the things I got him (A motab cd and an XBOX game) were things that I knew he really wanted, but I didn’t think they were that big of a deal or much of surprise. His third gift (which I am the most excited about and think is perfect for him!) was supposed to arrive on Saturday. Adam was home all day and the package never arrived. Then we went to check the mail and there was a “sorry we missed you slip” from the post office. Adam says there was like a 10 minute window where they might have knocked without him hearing, but other than that, he never heard a thing. Anyway, we will have to pick the package up tomorrow (which is slightly anticlimactic and I was SO EXCITED to give it to him!) but he still had a pretty good birthday.

Football Brownies
Adam isn’t the biggest fan of cake. He likes it okay, but it’s not his favorite thing. So, I decided to let him think I was making a cake, but instead I made him big huge brownies. Shaped like footballs. 🙂
Brownie Eater Megan loved that they were footballs. I said “put it in your mouth” not really expecting her to do it but she did and she ate almost an entire brownie. Safe to say we were shocked. I must have taken a hundred pictures just of Megan eating that stinkin’ brownie.

burgerFor his birthday dinner, I also had planned a surprise. I have a cake pan shaped like a football, so I decided to use it to make Adam a giant football shaped hamburger for dinner. It was a lot more difficult than I thought it would be, (especially grilling a three pound football shaped hunk of hamburger), but I learned enough so that next time it should be a much bigger success.

Mmmmm Thanks Tom and Wendy for coming over and enjoying this experiment with us. It’s always nice to spend time with you. And thanks to all for the cards, phone calls, and gifts. Adam had a really good birthday, and I can’t wait for him to get his gift tomorrow!

P.S. I love you, Adam…to the moon!

5 responses »

  1. Happy belated birthday Adam!! and great job Elizabeth! adorable brownies and wow on the hamburger! I’m shocked Megan tried to fit that whole thing in her mouth. I hope you got a video of it, if not, i will look around for more pics. 🙂

  2. Elizabeth, you are so creative, nice work! I bet it was hard to do, but it looks fantastic! I hope Adam’s birthday was a happy one. Megan is so cute with that huge brownie. 🙂

  3. Love the hamburger! It turned out GREAT! Happy Birthday Adam! I’m glad you guys had fun celebrating. Wish we could have been there to sing… 🙂

  4. Elizabeth you are totally creative. I absolutely love the hamburger! How did you ever think of doing something like that? Jeremy’s birthday is next month…maybe I’ll have to try to think of something really neat and fun like that.

Leave a Reply

