Officially a Sunbeam

Standard

Megan has always been a bright shining ray of light in our life, but today it became official. Megan graduated from our church’s nursey and today went to Primary for the first time. I was really worried because she thrives on routine and continuity, but she did a great job. We took her to the church building earlier in the week to show her the Primary room and her new classroom. When today arrived, we walked right past the nursery room: no problem. She didn’t seem the bit phased that she wasn’t in nursery anymore. Yay!

Unknown to Megan, I stood in the back and watched her for the first ten minutes or so. Megan had a REALLY hard time sitting still. I came back after Sunday School and sure enough, she was being constrained…on the teacher’s lap. She was happy and smiling though, so at least she enjoying herself. The teacher told me later that she sang “I am a Child of God” the loudest of them all.

I was one of those moms who had a really hard time when it came time to send her to nursery. I wasn’t anxious for her to grow-up and I missed spending my entire Sunday with her. Today was also bitter-sweet…as I saw how big she looked in her little primary chair…but I am also excited for the inevitable growth and development. She has been ready to graduate from nursery for a while now, so I think this was a good change for her.

I sure love my little Sunbeam. She is such a delight.

No mother could love their child more.

8 responses »

  1. She is soooo cute! And, getting so big 🙂 I am in nursery myself and trust me….it was a rough day for many moms 😦 Way to stay strong!

  2. Shannyn also started today! I am lucky enough to be in Primary with her. She had no problems and was just excited to finally go into the “big kids class” with her brothers and sister. Good for Megan!

  3. YAY!!!!! I was thinking about all the little Iowa sunbeams yesterday when I watched our little sunbeams in church. I love that first week of sunbeams, they are so cute and so proud of themselves and so excited to be big. I bet Megan is going to be the smartest sunbeam ever. I hope she enjoys it.

  4. She is becoming so beautiful, just like her mommy! I was just called to be the Sunbeam teacher in our ward, so hopefully my little ones will transition that well. We miss you guys very much. I’ve said it before and I’ll keep saying it…your kids are SO lucky to have a mom like you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

