Another Step.

Standard

Just wanted to share the good news that this happened this morning:

She fed herself every bite!

For those of you who read my last post, you will remember that Megan has never fed herself. Yep, a girl who is 3 years + 9 months old…is still spoon fed.

I am hopeful that what happened this morning will continue. It was clumsy going to start, but not as slow a process as I had imagined that it would be. There were a couple factors that really motivated Megan to feed herself:

1. Breakfast was a little late this morning so she was really hungry,
2. We began a new breakfast menu this morning (she actually picked a cinnamon roll for breakfast, but I motivated her to have cereal because it was later in the morning and the cinnamon rolls would have taken a while to bake), and
C. I can’t remember the last time she had fruit loops. She was so excited when I told her that if she picked cereal she could have fruit loops.

What a great start to a beautiful day!

Way to go Megan!

9 responses »

  1. Elizabeth, I’m more convinced than ever that our lives are in some sort of weird parallel. By some fluke last night, Topher slept the whole night through, from 10pm to 6am, which is completely unheard of for him. So happy for little Megan and hope the progress continues!

  2. I loved your idea with the list of foods to choose from. My kids are picky eaters and I’d like to get them to try new foods. I’m going to try your method. Wish me luck!

  3. AWESOME! I just read both food posts and you are such a great mom! Megan is an amazing child too. You’re so blessed to have EACH OTHER.
    Way to go and congrats!!!!

    kids are funny how they do and don’t so things huh?

  4. Yeah Megan!!!!! Soooo happy for you. Most of all – Yeah Elizabeth!!!!! You are the best Mom ever – always a good example to me!

  5. YAH!!! Go Megan. Liz don’t feel too bad Shelby who is the same age eats less by herself than her 19 month old sister who insists on doing it alone…..Kids they really are unique!

Leave a Reply

