Sunday’s Sundaes: A Series

Standard

Lately it seems like blogging is all about giveaways, tutorials, recipes, and all sorts of DIY projects.

Take, for instance, my ultra-talented, super-gorgeous friend Heather. Her blog is awesome. She has all of the above items: and more. She is incredibly creative and artistic. She does amazing giveaways and shares inspiring real-life stories from her readers. She has been spoiling me with gifts of her creative talent for years and years. You should follow her. You won’t regret it.

Consider also my awesome sister-in-law, Mary. She is the queen of organization. She bakes fab food and shares the recipes. She’s super crafty and witty. She also dishes out weekly giveaways. I have put into practice many of her tips and ideas she shares on her blog. Check her out and follow her.

I have many other talented friends who share their creativity with the rest of the world through their blog. You should check out Lyssa. Her DIY projects are thrifty and practical. She can whip up the cutest little something out of nothin’ at all. Her crafts are modern and trendy and oh-so-cute.

Anyway, the thing is, I am not crafty. Or creative. Or a good cook. I own a sewing machine that I don’t know how to turn on have never used. I drool over the amazing things I see created by friends and strangers online. I can’t do the things that they can do. I wish I could.

I sometimes feel that my blog no longer has a place in the internet world. But after spending some time thinking about it, I realized that the point of my blog never was to show how to make a complete handmade bedspread out of a few pieces of horsehair and a nine-iron. Originally, this blog was born to keep family and friends updated while we lived in Iowa. After a talk given by Elder Ballard in 2008, I decided that I needed to include my testimony more often in my blog and share with the “world” (aka the 12 of you that read my blog) what I know to be true. My long time readers also know just how therapeutic my blog was to me during Jack’s brief life and after his death. I continue to use this blog as an outlet for my grief, and I continue to feel love and support from many of you.

So while I am just jade with envy when I look about and see all the amazing things that others are creating and sharing and posting on their blogs, you should know that from now on, when you come to my blog, you are going to get a weekly dose of my growing testimony. I have wanted to do this for a while now, and now I finally feel like committing.

I’ve decided that I need to better recognize teaching moments in my life. I hope that I can find at least one thing each week that will help me better my relationship with my Savior… or help me better understand the Gospel… or help me be more charitable/understanding toward my fellow-men

So while this new “series” on my blog with fulfill my goal of publicly sharing my beliefs, it’s actually being executed with the hope that I can slowly become a better person. For over two years now, (since we lost Jack), I have known that I have a long way to go if I am to become worthy of my perfect little boy. I hope to start making some small steps into that direction.

And so…the birth of “Sunday’s Sundaes”. Feel free to check in each Sunday for a little something sweet for your Sabbath Day. I’m totally looking forward to it.

7 responses »

  1. You are soooo good at writing. I love your blogs and am happy every time it shows up in my feeder! I cant wait for Sunday Sundaes!

  2. I love it! We each have our own gifts to share. You are a fantastic writer with the ability to weave rawness and beauty in your words. I look forward to your new series! (By the way, I’m also not crafty in the least. Nothing wrong with that.)

  3. First of all, I’ve seen you be crafty and creative, but most importantly, I love when you share your testimony. You inspire me always…and everyone else who hears (or reads) you. I’m super excited to have a taste of your Sunday’s Sundaes! You’re the best!

  4. Your blog is so uplifting and amazing. I’m so glad I get to know you and learn from you. You are so great and I am so appreciative of the way you express yourself and I leave your blog a little happier and a little more grateful for you. Thanks Elizabeth

  5. I love your blog. I started reading it when Carrie mentioned it shortly after Jack was born, and I still come back to read it. I have a friend who’s baby was born prematurely, lived a few weeks, and died right before Christmas 2010. Your blog gave me a better insight on how she might be feeling and how I could be supportive. I enjoy reading about your life and thank you for sharing. I also blog simply for me and for my family. Having to always be witty and creative would make it no fun. I just want to share what’s going on with those who care. While we have never met, I do care about your life and how you are doing. So please keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

