Unexpected…Only Not Really

Standard

I wasn’t planning on writing the last post that I published. I had considered writing about Megan and her therapy once it had been determined what we were dealing with with her, but for some reason I felt compelled to share the situation as it stood.

The day after I published that post, Megan was scheduled for another therapy session. I thought it would be just another standard, “let’s get to know Megan a little better” and that’s exactly how it started. About halfway through the session, the therapist pulled out some paperwork and told me she was going to ask me some questions and do an evaluation. The questions were actually quite extensive, and we discussed each question, and each response I gave. When we were finished with the questionnaire, the therapist told me she was going to calculate the results and I sat in silence until she finished.

Her: “I am going to go ahead and give Megan an official diagnosis of Autism/Aspergers/PDD.”
Me: “Oh? Okay. . .”
“Scoring at about 70 or above on this evaluation is generally a good indicator that a child has Aspergers. Megan scored 160.”
“Oh.”
“How do you feel about this diagnosis?”

I feel fine with this diagnosis, and I am not surprised. Ever since Megan was about two and a half, we have recognized some ‘abnormalities’ and autism has always been dancing around in our minds. I am not sure when exactly Adam and I started entertaining the possibility of Megan having autism, but I know it was before Megan was three years old. I remember a chance encounter with a woman where I learned about hyperlexia, and I felt so certain that Megan had hyperlexia at the time (which falls under the autism umbrella.) I went about incorporating treatments for hyperlexia/autism in Megan’s every day life and it made SUCH a difference. Since then, Adam and I have read article after article and book after book about Aspergers and sometimes things just seemed so absolute, and other times it just seemed way off. All along the way we applied what we thought was applicable to Megan and we saw definite successes.

But obviously there were times and situations and experiences that had us baffled. And so, that brings us to where we are today.

Megan’s therapist referred to Megan as extremely high functioning. She recognized that she is incredibly intelligent and gifted and she confirmed that the main “issues” with Megan are her social skills and communication. Our goal with therapy and intervention are to teach her the skills she needs to thrive in these areas especially since as she grows older, these areas will only become more complex and intricate.

Honestly, Megan having Aspergers doesn’t really matter to us. We LOVE Megan just the way she is. I just hope that I can be equal to the task and do all it takes to help Megan lead a happy and successful life. Now that is official, I have done even MORE research and learned so much MORE than I ever knew before. We have had so many “ah-ha!” moments. Mostly it has just been refreshing.

Her therapist asked me what I love and enjoy most about Megan:

“I love how smart she is. She has always been so intelligent. She is curious. I love how sweet she is. She is just genuinely kind-hearted. She is SO obedient and honest. She is HILARIOUS! She makes me laugh so much. She is downright beautiful. She is gentle and caring and peaceful. She is loving. She makes me so happy. I am just crazy about her.”

I would do anything for Megan. I love her to the moon and back.

3 responses »

  1. ….and megan is the luckiest kid around to have you for a mom and adam for a dad. can you imagine impossible life must feel for kids who develop atypically and have parents who don’t adore them? you are welcome to talk to sean (he was the autism guy in ames for about 10 years; specializing in early childhood). we love you all

  2. I agree with Shannon. Megan is so lucky to have two parents who adore her so much, and would do anything for her. She is one lucky girl.

  3. My 8 year old has Aspergers, and her preliminary diagnosis was when she was 4. Knowing she was not deliberately acting out was such a relief! The best thing for me (because she is very high functioning and most people don’t even know she’s anything other than quirky) was to see a Family Therapist once a week with whatever kids weren’t in school. I needed her to help me parent that child specifically, but she really helped me be a better parent in general. I was so sad when we had to move. We haven’t been to a therapist again, but Marian (my 8 year old) goes to a social group at school. The chiropractor has also been very helpful. We saw vastly improved behavior after our first week of adjustments. We go at least once a month now.

    And I agree with you. I love my child as she is. I would not want to change her. If I had to give up her quirks to make her “normal”, I would not do it. I want for her to have a happy and successful life, but I love and adore her the way she is.

Leave a Reply

