Mother’s Day 2012

Standard

I am so grateful to be a mother.  I love my little girls: so much.  But motherhood is not defined by the physical process of giving birth alone.  I am so grateful for all the women in my life who are such wonderful examples of motherhood to me and my children.  I had the opportunity to give a talk in sacrament meeting on Mother’s Day.  What a wonderful experience it was throughout the proceeding week to study and pray and research what it REALLY means to be a mother.  All women are mothers by divine design.  I am so grateful for the knowledge of my role as a daughter of God, and I love that I have two little girls that I can raise up to also be mothers; no matter what their future maternity or marriage status may be.

For Mother’s Day, Adam and the girls beautified our front porch for me.  So we had a shoe bench that we got from our sister-in-law Mary but hadn’t been using for shoes.  Adam turned the bench into a planter.  He also put some flowers into a pot and into Megan’s old rain-boots.  Add a hanging plant and the porch was complete.  I love walking out on the porch and feeling the thought and love that went into my gift.  I’m a lucky gal to have such thoughtful kiddos and husband.

Megan, who does NOT enjoy getting her picture taken: at ALL, wanted me to take this one of her with the planter.  She is such a sweetheart.

I hope that my own mother and my mother-in-law also had a wonderful Mother’s Day this year.  No amount of words or gifts could ever do my love and appreciation for them justice.  Happy Mother’s Day CJ and JJ!  I love you!

2 responses »

  1. super dee duper cool!
    makes me want to go plant a flower in our old rain boots!! how sweet!
    and the temple FHE was awesome. that is crazy cool to have TWO temples within a mile!!!
    your girls are just gorgeous!!
    and since i haven’t yet gotten a chance to tell you- seeing you and HUGGING you was a HIGHLIGHT of my women’s conference. I so wish i had known where the heck i was going so i didn’t have to run away- i was beyond thrilled to see you and your mom and just wish I could have talked MORE and seen Sarah!

Leave a Reply

