Introducing Alec Adam Johanson

Standard

077

On March 21st (my due date) I went to my 40 week prenatal appointment really hopeful that I had made some progress over the past week. I shouldn’t have expected much though, because I hadn’t been really contracting much and I didn’t feel like there should be any progress.

And there wasn’t. My doctor tried to get things going a bit, but also scheduled me to be induced at 41 weeks. I got home from my appointment hopeful that the doctor had got things going, but not much happened. The next day (March 22nd) I started to contract a little more often, but still not much. Saturday (March 23rd) during the day was the same story, but that night, I started to contract a lot. I laid in bed timing contractions for 8 HOURS. They even had a little kick to them. I texted my mom and told her and she decided to head up from Vegas in the wee hours of Sunday morning. As soon as she got on the road, however, the contractions stopped almost completely. I contracted on and off throughout the day on Sunday (March 24th), but again, the day time hours brought little activity. Then Sunday night I was up all night once again timing some semi rough contractions. Monday (March 25th) morning arrived and…everything stopped. My mom and I went and ran errands and went and shopped till I dropped, and we ate Cafe Rio for lunch and Olive Garden for dinner and Spoon it Up for dessert and around 9 or so the contractions started and I thought…”maybe this is it…” So I did my hair and tidied up the house and then by bedtime they had once again died down.

So I went to bed that night around 11, and right away the contractions started. Adam was snoring next to me and I was huffing and puffing and writhing in real pain. The contractions were about 10-15 minutes apart, but I was in some serious pain. So at 2am on March 26th, I woke up Adam and said I wanted to go to the hospital. I didn’t care if they sent me away, I just couldn’t lay there in pain any more doing nothing. So we got things ready and told my mom we would keep her posted and headed on our way. As we were rushing out the door, the contractions started coming at 3-6 minute intervals and I was getting beat.

002

We arrived at the hospital around 2:30am and they got me right up to labor and delivery. We did some brief preliminary paperwork and then they had me in a room. A little before 3 they checked me. I could tell I had made some progress by the nurses tone as she questioned me, “did you want an epidural? Are you Strep B positive? This is a VBAC?” Then she said, “you’re at a 7.” I was like, “what the?” and then I was like, “sweet!” I shouldn’t have been too surprised though, since basically the same thing happened with Jane. I guess my body likes to labor for days. And days. And days. I told them I needed an epidural per doctor’s orders (in case I needed an emergency c-section…although I definitely would have gotten one anyway) and the anesthesiologist was there quick style. My doctor arrived soon after, (he was so grumpy) and checked me at 3:15 and I was at an 8. I made fun of his hair a little which had everyone in the room laughing at him, and he immediately broke my water. But by this time…the contractions had nearly completely stopped!!! Even after my water had been broken, the contractions never really picked up. After about an hour and a half of nothing, they decided to start me on oxytocin. So they did, and right away my contractions picked up and at 5:20 they told me the baby was ready! I couldn’t believe it!

So my doctor came in (he had a hat on this time “to hide his hair” he said) and got things ready and I started pushing and two contractions later the baby had arrived!!! They lifted Baby up and I saw right away that it was a boy!!! I was so surprised because I thought for sure I was having a girl!! But nope, both Adam and I shrieked “it’s a boy?!” It was pretty wonderful, and the happy tears were flowing. They placed him on my chest right away. He was so tiny and soooooo cute. I saw right away that his hair was lighter than the other three children’s had been, and he was lacking hair on top, but had a TON in back. He was just perfect.

010

023

They let me hold him for a while (which was nice because with Jane she had to be whisked over for the NICU team to check her out) and then they took him to warm him up and weigh and measure him. I was totally expecting a huge baby, so I was surprised when my little boy arrived weighing only 7 pounds 10 ounces. He was also 20 inches long.
129

121-001

017

I can see both girls in him, especially Megan, but he also has a look all his own. I don’t see too much Jack in him, but it’s hard to know.

Megan is completely enamored with him. She was hoping for a boy to keep up the girl-boy-girl-boy pattern, but I think she would have equally loved a little sister. She is just so sweet and cute with him. Jane is having a little bit of a harder time accepting this new family member, but she’s slowly coming around. How could she not? Alec is perfect. Oh yeah, his name is Alec Adam Johanson. Adam after his daddy, and Alec after his big brother, Jack Alexander.

244
293

288

043

One of my biggest concerns was how the girls would do in the care of another while I was in labor. I prayed and prayed that the timing would work out best for them. That prayer was definitely answered. My mom was able to stay with them initially, and then when she joined us at the hospital, Adam’s Aunt Patti stayed with them. Jane woke up at 5am and had a hard time when she realized her mom and dad weren’t there and Aunt Patti was extra kind to her and didn’t leave her side. Adam was able to return before Megan even awoke. Heavenly Father answered my prayer. I am so grateful to Patti! Thank you.

Alec is just as sweet as they come. We could tell that right away. He has been so calm and peaceful. He nursed immediately (which was way different from my girls) and he just has the sweetest spirit about him. We are so in love.

162

358

226

196
Welcome to our family Alec! Thank you for choosing us.

327

5 responses »

  1. I just have to say that I am AMAZED that you posed, SMILING no less, for a picture less than 3 hours before he arrived. And you looked fantastic, too! Wonderful post, beautiful pictures. Congratulations again!

  2. How wonderful! Congratulations on having such an adorable little boy. I love reading birth stories and I love all the pictures.

  3. HOW DID I MISS THIS??!?!?
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!
    I am sooooo happy for your amazing family! What JOY! He is perfect- so very handsome! Couldn’t be more happy for you all! And such a perfect name!! What an honor for Jack. Many blessings and best wishes for you!!! love ya!!!

Leave a Reply

