Come What May, and Love It

Standard

dscn1070

Things are going as well as can be hoped for right now. Both the head ultrasounds from today and from Wednesday have shown no signs of bleeding. He had an ECHO of his heart today and they say that they continue to see improvement (he was born with a healthy and perfect heart, but since he has hypertension, his heart has had to work too hard since the day he was born, and now it needs a break: thus, the ECMO machine.) The improvement is really small, but that’s what they expect at this point. As far as we know, there is no change in the hypertension status.

In one of his visits, our Bishop left us with the recent General Conference issue of the Ensign. He urged us to study it and seek for any counsel that might help us through this difficult time. Adam and I were both overcome by the spirit while reading the talk by Elder Wirthlin. Not sure how this is possible, but it was pretty much written just for us.

There are so many things about this talk that I love, so I encourage you to read the talk in it’s entirety. Some thoughts that touched me in particular were:

“Every life has peaks and shadows and times when it seems that the birds don’t sing and bells don’t ring. Yet in spite of discouragement and adversity, those who are happiest seem to have a way of learning from difficult times, becoming stronger, wiser, and happier as a result.”

“You may feel singled out when adversity enters your life. You shake your head and wonder, ‘Why me?’
But the dial on the wheel of sorrow eventually points to each of us. At one time or another, everyone must experience sorrow. No one is exempt.”

“The Lord compensates the faithful for every loss. That which is taken away from those who love the Lord will be added unto them in His own way. While it may not come at the time we desire, the faithful will know that every tear today will eventually be returned a hundredfold with tears of rejoicing and gratitude.”

He also tells about how his grandson Joseph has autism. He mentions that Joseph’s father and mother were heartbroken as they came to terms with the illness. I was reminded of how heartbroken I was as I imagined whatever special needs Jack might have. Elder Wirthlin told about what a joy Joseph is to his family, and what a choice spirit he is.

dscn1074We don’t know just yet what afflictions Jack will face in this lifetime. I know that there is a good chance that he will have some special needs, and dealing with those will be quite difficult. I also know that I don’t want to lose him and I want to raise him in this life “come what may”. I already know that Jack is a choice spirit. I know that he will continue to bring so much joy to our little family.

We’re so grateful that the last talk from our beloved Elder Wirthlin seemed to be written specifically for us. I had always heard stories about “needing” to hear something during conference and feeling something was just for you, but I had never experienced it until now. I do believe the words which this apostle spoke.

Adam and I are indeed going through the most difficult time of our life right now. We are sad and we are heartbroken but we are taking comfort from the words of the apostles and prophets and the scriptures.

Doctrine and Covenants 121:7 –
“Peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment.”

A lifetime with Jack (plus forever) will more than makeup for the sorrow we are feeling now.

10 responses »

  1. You are so sweet. Jack is lucky to have you guys as his parents. It’s been nice to be able to read that he’s doing better….. or at least nothing major has gone wrong. We’ll keep you all in our prayers.

  2. Nothing is more comforting than the true gospel of Jesus Christ, as manifest through the Holy Ghost. Nothing. The quote that you gave from Elder Wirthin’s talk means a great deal to me to. He is teaching the same thing that Joseph Smith talk to the saints in his time. “All your losses will be made up to you in the resurrection, provided you continue faithful.” (Joseph Smith) I don’t know how this will work, but I believe the word of God as given through His prophets.

  3. So glad to hear that there haven’t been additional setbacks and that ECMO is doing it’s job.

    I read that article from Elder Wirthlin last week when we heard that he passed away. It is funny, because I thought for sure he wrote that talk for me! I think that talk will become a classic for inspiration through tough times.

    Your family continues to be at the forefront of our thoughts and we continue to remember you in every prayer. I especially love the picture of Elizabeth kissing the top of Jack’s head. I can imagine how that must be a bright spot in your day, kissing that little forehead. It’s all about the love, right? (Remembering your Thanksgiving Day post.) And FYI – I REALLY REALLY want to kiss the top of that little head, too.

  4. You are such an inspiration. I learn so much from your testimony and faith during this trying time. I have truly been blessed by you. Your family and especially Jack are in our prayers. I am glad he has stabilized and shown signs of improvement. I love the pictures you posted they are very precious.

  5. I’m glad to hear good news on Jack’s progress. It’s so nice to have thing stable with him, I’m sure. We’re thinking of you, praying for you, and hope that you continue to feel the Lord’s love each day in your lives. Jack is a special boy and I’m sure the Lord has many great plans for him!

  6. WOW! I am even more in awe of you guys now. As I read that same conference talk, I also thought “This is perfect for the Johansons,” but that’s easy for me to say when I’m on the outside. I’m so impressed that you both found so much comfort and direction from that talk. You’re an inspiration to all of us and I thank you again for letting us learn from you and Jack! What a wonderful purpose Jack is already fulfilling in this life!

  7. That was beautifully written. We just reviewed this talk on Sunday as well as another talk from Elder Wirthlin that I know you both would just love. “Sunday will Come.” We all have those horrible, hard times in our life, just like the Friday that Christ died, but Sunday came and we had hope again. No matter the outcome of this trial you all have, Sunday will come. If you ever have time(what’s that, especially now, right???) I would definitely recommend it. When you read these words of the apostles, it’s impossible to not know that they are the words of our Father in Heaven. Your little family is so full of strength. Jack was without a doubt sent to the right family. You continue to be an inspiration to us and are always in our prayers.
    Wes and Holly

  8. You and Adam are indeed amazing in your faith and courage. My prayers for you have been and continue to be that this experience will bring you closer to each other and the Lord. We love you all!

  9. I loved that talk before, but i love it even more now!! i’m so grateful that there are so many wonderful people in our lives that have the spirit with them and are inspired to help us. WE love all of you!

Leave a comment