Wedding Events

Standard

Meggie

Family with Bride and GroomAdam and I weren’t planning on spending our Spring Break in Las Vegas, mostly because we didn’t even know when Spring Break was. We were planning, however, to spend the weekend of March 14th – 15th in Northern California. When making travel arrangements, we learned that the week following was Spring Break. Totally cool.

On March 14th, Adam’s older brother Josh was married to (our now sister-in-law) Alyssa, for time and all eternity, in the Oakland LDS temple. The entire weekend was really wonderful.

Family at the beachFriday night, the entire Johanson family and entire Redding family, enjoyed a fun dinner at Applebee’s as we got to know one another and share stories about the happy couple. The next morning, we all went to the beach (minus the bride and groom who were probably getting ready!) and enjoyed the cool (cold) beach weather and sand beneath our toes.

Megan at the Beach Miss Megan LOVED the beach! It was a little on the chilly side, and everyone was freezing, but Megan couldn’t have cared less (I am pretty sure most of her cousins felt the same way.) She ran around laughing; just having a great time. Perhaps a relocation to beach front property is in order…for Megan’s sake…of course…

After the beach we got ready and headed to the temple. Adam and I (along with my mom who spent the weekend with us, and Megan) were the first guests to arrive and were able to walk around the temple grounds a little bit and check out the visitor’s center. Adam and I then left Megan with my mom and headed to the temple for the ceremony.

I thought the wedding was perfect. The sealer did a beautiful job, and Josh and Alyssa were just glowing. It was a sweet reminder to me of the promises that I too made when Adam and I were married in the temple. During the ceremony, I was strongly reminded that as I live up to my temple covenants, I will be with my Jack again.

Party AnimalThe day continued to run smoothly and we all had a great time at the reception that evening. It could be argued that no one had more fun then Megan (bride and groom excluded). She danced the night away! At one point, she kicked off her shoes and really got down to partying. By the time we left, her cheeks were bright red, and her feet were dark black. She has been asking to go to a “party” every day since then. Lucky for her, Uncle Jake’s wedding is just around the corner. Can’t wait for more reception fun for her. She is SUCH a sweetheart!

It really was a great weekend, and we are so happy for Josh and Alyssa. We were grateful to be a part of the their special weekend. We are excited for their new journey and wish them life’s every happiness.

Johanson Family

9 responses »

  1. Megan looks so adorable in her dress. I can picture her dancing the night away – so glad you guys had such a good time! You look gorgeouss in these last two posts Elizabeth!

  2. What a cute dress for Megan! And your hair looks beautiful! I’m glad you guys had a great time! We look forward to seeing you when you get back!

  3. I love your hair like that. I love Megan’s dress. I really hope you are framing all of those pictures of Megan; couldn’t be more beautiful

  4. This is Ann btw! Cute to see Megan in the cowboy boots! And her dress was beautiful. You look very good too!!

  5. Okay…you look fantastic! I’m so glad you had a good time. Megan is so beautiful in that dress!

  6. That is so wonderful! Congratulations to Josh and his new bride! Also, I love the picture of Megan in the little red dress. Beautiful!

Leave a comment